Where the Fabulous Live

‘Accept My Baggage’ Tour: Camille Gabriele, LLC

In NEWS on December 1, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Reported by Verity Promise & Joyce Datiles, London UK and contributor Camille Gabriele

Founded in 2002, Camille Gabriele LLC is a luxury handbag company that specializes in couture evening bags and boasts of its launch of the ‘modern’ luxury handbag. The lovely Camille Gabriele, senior designer for Camille Gabrille LLC, attended the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York and University of North Carolina at Greensboro Textile Design Product program. After graduating in 2003, Camille embarked on designing couture leather handbags, inspired by ‘simple, unconventional concepts.’ The brand’s latest trunk show tour is called, ‘Accept My Baggage.’

Camille Gabriele’s handbags are constructed with skins of textured embossed leathers, delicate lambskin and durable calfskin as well as high-spun woven cotton linings, customized hardware in metallic colours [gun metal, nickel, gold, brass and antique coppers] and encrusted finishes on each unique piece.

Camille graciously honored The Fashion Bubble with a mini-autobio, so here is the talented designer in her own words:

“Camille Gabriele designs come from inspirations that are a part of everyday life, i.e. the things we see everyday but view differently with a peculiar eye. I am usually drawn to colors and shapes. I then re-vision them in non-conventional ways. For instance, ‘Magnanimous’ – that inspiration came from the rim of a car.

‘Modern Luxury’ describes the type of handbag designer Camille Gabriele LLC is to the customer. The modern side appreciates the new way of designing handbags with exclusive unique hardware and shapes, yet the luxury embraces the quality of how the handbags are constructed while adorned in fine skins and details.

“Accept My Baggage” is a play on an acceptance of me as an emerging designer. I started designing handbags while attending college at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro; it was my first class project in Sewing Construction 101. Shorty after I started having trunk shows whilst in college. The first Camille Gabriele LLC trunk show entitled, “The Absense of Color” sold about $500 worth of handbags.

What drives me the most? Above all things, I really like to be creative. It is something divine that takes place, when you create something from nothing. And then you stand back and see the final product. WOW, it becomes very emotional!

There were many people who influenced me in my career: Dr. Nancy Nelson and Sherri, who shared their knowledge and love for the industry. My mentors Evon Ruffin and Sheila Wiggins financially assisted me while in school and attended all my trunk shows. The Roberta Sheilds Ludacris Foundation created a national platform for the brand while hosting and sponsoring my show at their infamous restaurant.

There were many people who influenced me in my career: Dr. Nancy Nelson and Sherri, who shared their knowledge and love for the industry. My mentors Evon Ruffin and Sheila Wiggins financially assisted me while in school and attended all my trunk shows. The Roberta Sheilds Ludacris Foundation created a national platform for the brand while hosting and sponsoring my show at their infamous restaurant.

In addition, I must say my parents and peers. My father has always been a motivator because of his strong work-ethic and my mother, who has been the greatest spiritual influence on me. If you put it all that together how can you give up?

My advice on purchasing handbags: Find the bag that compliments your wardrobe. If you have a vast wardobe, of course, you will have many options. However, if you have a limited wardrobe, purchase handbags that are suitable for your wardrobe and lifestyle. Also take into consideration your body type. For instance, if you are petite, carry a handbag that will compliment your size. Don’t carry anything that will swallow you up in the handbag! If you are tall, carry medium to large-sized bags. We also like to see what you are carrying. If you are going out for a night on the town, choose a bright-colored clutch!

My advice to any aspiring or budding designers is to build healthy relationships in the fashion/retail industry. There are plenty of people who are interested in what you are doing, so they are willing to help. Find mentors or people who don’t mind sharing and shadow them. Talk to everyone, let them know what you are doing. You will be surprised at the interest, and you will have a host of people supporting your dream in so many ways.”

Thanks so much, Camille!

If you’re obsessed with Camille Gabriele’s divine luxury handbags like we are,

check out the company’s website here: www.camillegabriele.com

Happy shopping, Glamourazzis!

Photos & Press Kits graciously provided by Camille Gabriele LLC

HELP BUY LIFE

Kim Kardashian sacrificed her digital life to help save millions of real lives affected by HIV/AIDS in Africa and India. That means no more Facebook or Twitter updates from her until $1,000,000 is raised to buy her life back. Click here to support her cause: http://buylife.org/about.php

Leave a Reply

